Presidential Action Committee

Eager to redeem his pledge to Nigerians on power supply, President Goodluck Jonathan has set up a Presidential Action Committee on Power under his chairmanship to give close monitoring to policy implementation processes aimed at providing electricity to Nigerians. the composition of a new power reform structure is part of measures to transform the power sector and breathe life into electric power in the country.
The new structure is to be driven by the Presidential Action Committee on Power chaired by the President, supported by a Presidential Task Force on Power.

"The Presidential Action Committee will provide leadership and guidance for the development of the power sector, and determine the general policy direction and strategic focus of the ongoing power reform."
The committee has Vice-President Mohammed NamadiSambo as alternate chairman. Its other members are the Minister of State for Power, the Ministers of Finance, National Planning and Petroleum Resources, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Head of Service, Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, a Special Adviser on Power, and Chief of Staff to the President.

The Presidential Task Force is charged with developing and driving the Action Plan for the nation's power sector with achievable targets within the lifespan of the present administration.He said the committee is also to articulate a proper plan of action for implementation in the areas of power generation, transmission, distribution, as well as all issues regarding power sector reform.The task force will report to the president and the Presidential Action Committee on a regular basis. The Presidential Task Force is to be chaired by the Special Adviser to the President on Power. Members include the Permanent Secretary (Ministry of Power); Group Managing Director, Nigerian National Petroleum of Corporation (NNPC); Managing Director, Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN); Managing Director, Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC); Director General, Bureau for Public Procurement (BPP); Director General Bureau for Public Enterprises (BPE); Accountant General of the Federation; Chief Executive, Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC); CEOs of two power distribution companies; CEOs of two generating companies, and Director of Power in the Power Ministry. The Senior Special Assistant to the President (Special Projects) will serve as Member/Secretary.
For More information, Click here


Prof Bartholomew Nnaji